KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

A Quiet Christmas

Sunset @ Atlantic Beach NC

Sunset @ Atlantic Beach NC

I must admit it’s difficult getting used to being alone at Christmas.  Seems like I woke up one day and my children were grown and gone.  I found myself alone in this big house on the coast of North Carolina this Christmas morning. I had an invitation for dinner in Raleigh 3 hours away, but was not feeling up to making the long drive.  I accept my new reality as being part of life and the aging process, and am not even really depressed about it.  That crystallized awareness that those days of raising children are gone forever can be liberating in a way.

It was great hearing from my daughter Andei  in LA and my son Adam in El Salvador.  Talking with them made me realize just how much I love and miss them both. I totally accept they have their lives to live.  I’m extremely proud of them and the personal journey’s they’ve embarked on.

I’ve been blessed in so many ways this Christmas. Not with actual presents, but with the personal realization of how lucky I am,  including the ability to travel to so many amazing places around the world since retiring a little over a year ago.  I’m also lucky to have met a great woman who lives in El Salvador.  The biggest challenge to our relationship is the distance and the times spent apart.

I took a long walk on the beach last night and was given a majestic sunset by the creator as a present for me to photograph.  I hope everyone reading this post had a great and blessed Christmas. Sometimes we have to spend some quiet time to take stock and count all the blessing we have, even when we find ourselves alone during a special time like Christmas.

Here is one more sunset shot that I took yesterday during my beach walk.

absunset2013

3 comments on “A Quiet Christmas

  1. lorraine farrell
    December 26, 2013

    Thank you so much for the beautiful photos and sharing your thoughts on Christmas now that the kids are gone! Very comforting 🙂

  2. Ozaawaakook
    December 31, 2013

    “Solitude and Reflection” is a good thing. Wish you the best Spec 5 Keough in the up coming year with your romance and travel adventures.

  3. PLRin.com
    February 28, 2014

    Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to mention that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing on your rss feed and I’m hoping you write once more very soon!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 26, 2013 by in Keough Journal, Photography and tagged , , , , .
