KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Early Morning Photo Shoot In Myrtle Beach, SC

Ropes and Life Preserver

Ropes and Life Preserver

I traveled to Myrtle Beach, South Carolina yesterday to spend New Year’s with my friends Henry and Trish.  Henry Stindt was my Photography Professor when I was in graduate school 30 years ago and Trish is a online teacher colleague of mine.  Whenever we get together it’s just a matter of time before the cameras get pulled out.

Deserted Putt Putt Golf Attraction

Deserted Putt Putt Golf Attraction

We woke up early this morning at Henry’s suggestion in search of unique photographs of some of the kitsch, campy and garish locations in around around this iconic beach community.  We started off photographing at a deserted Putt Putt Golf Park and then went for a walk around the old part of the beach.

Tiki Bar

Tiki Bar

There is nothing like having a camera in my hand to put me “in the moment”. Searching for interesting and visually unique photographs puts me in a different mental zone. I shut everything else out of my mind and concentrate on identifying visually appealing subjects to shoot and then frame in my camera lens. For me its like therapy and is always a cathartic creative experience. A great way to bring in the new year!

Here are some of my favorite shots from our morning driving around Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

2 comments on “Early Morning Photo Shoot In Myrtle Beach, SC

  1. Henry James Stindt
    January 4, 2014

    Same time and place, but different eye and space – check out images on FB.

  2. PLRin.com
    February 28, 2014

    I finally have time to read your entries! Very interesting and cool!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2013 by in Photography, Travel and tagged , , .
