KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

A Day in Manhattan

Journal Entry 05/24/2014 8:00am

View of Empire State Building

View of Empire State Building

I’m on the Long Island train heading to Penn Station from St. James, Long Island.  Looking forward to spending a day in Manhattan. My first stop will be a visit to St. Patrick’s Cathedral and then head on down to 53rd Street to the Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) where I plan to spend most of the day soaking up the art, especially the Gauguin Metamorphosis Exhibition and their vast history of photography collection that goes all the way back to the very first pictures made by Daguerre and Nicéphore Niépce.

St. Patrick's Cathedral Under Renovations

St. Patrick’s Cathedral Under Renovations

I’ve always loved spending a full day in the city meandering through the museums and just walking around Manhattan with my camera. There is something personally enriching and aesthetically pleasing to me just looking at great art in some of the best museums in the world.

Journal Entry Cont. 4:30pm

I had an amazing time in NYC! I spent 4 hours perusing through the MOMA. Most of that time spent at the comprehensive Gauguin exhibition. The special exhibit called Metamorphosis was curated and displayed beautifully and I learned some new things about his art beyond what you read in art textbooks. I plan to follow up this post with a review of the show and my thoughts on his art next week. I took at least 20 pages of notes while walking around the galleries that displayed his paintings, drawings, woodcuts, oil prints and sculptures. To think he created so much art and died in his early 50’s.

guguinsign

There is so much visual stimuli in NYC. Its coming at you from every direction.  Brightly lit and flickering giant billboards, street vendors on every corner, people walking with purpose down the crowded streets speaking a variety of languages and of course the many sounds and smells that literally envelope you. For someone who great up in New York and moved away its a joy to immerse myself in the cacophony that is Manhattan on a holiday weekend.

Herald Square, NYC

Herald Square, NYC

Its fun to watch and photograph the people that come from all walks of life. Tourists, New Yorkers, business men and women, and unfortunately the downtrodden as well. The “city” is a smorgasbord of intense activity. For me its an adrenalin rush and great photo opportunity to spend a day wandering around the Big Apple.

Below are some photos I took during my day in “the city”! Enjoy!

 

 

4 comments on “A Day in Manhattan

  1. janie112
    May 25, 2014

    No! You were in the city and you didn’t come to visit!

    • Patrick Keough
      May 25, 2014

      Darn! I should have Jane, but I must admit I was so caught up with the MOMA and Gauguin I lost track of time and had to catch the train back to LI. Next time!!!

      • janie112
        May 25, 2014

        Yes, please Patrick. I would so love to see you.

  2. Pingback: A Day in Manhattan | Ragnarok Connection

Leave a Reply

