KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Feeling Helpless and Frustrated

ASOS(1)

I normally try to stick to topics related to art, photography, travel and technology in my blog posts, however I’m going to veer off and address some things that have me feeling very frustrated, concerned and even helpless in this blog essay. I grew up  in the late 50’s and 60’s when America was a very different place than it is now. That makes me a baby boomer, and I will admit I feel blessed to have experienced an innocent and enjoyable childhood on Long Island where we played games and sports outdoors, explored the woods near our suburban home and the cell phone, internet and computer we not a part of our young lives.

Sure I may have an idealized view of my past and childhood, but with that said…I can’t help to think that the country I grew up in is now in dire straights. For the past few years I’ve tried not to let politics stress me out or affect my attitude about life. This however is getting more and more difficult to do when each day the mass media and social networks bombard us with all the latest government scandals, wars, border conflicts and political issues and agendas.

What the hell is going on in this once great country of ours? What’s happened to the rule of law? What is it about the US Constitution that these partisan political hacks don’t understand. I mean IRS being used to target conservative political groups and the Benghazi debacle where our administration failed to protect American citizens and an Ambassador gets killed.  The ATF Fast and Furious gun running scheme backfiring, the Obamacare debacle, freeing 5 terrorists in exchange for a treasonous deserter and now thousands upon thousands of illegals coming across our southern border with no effort to stop them . Click here for a list of this administrations scandals.

This President doesn’t seem to be acting in the countries best interest and is either totally incompetent or he wants to play a major role in the demise of the United States and its role in the world. I’m not a political writer by any means. I am just a semi-retired man in his early 60’s who feels helpless, frustrated and anxious about the direction this country is going in.

I am concerned for my children and what they will have to deal with in the coming years.  We are losing more and more freedoms every year.  This has happened incrementally over my lifetime and looking back I realize just how intrusive our government has become. Is it just me or does our government feel like the enemy of the “legal” middle class working citizens?

It blows my mind that so many people still don’t see what is going on in this country. Our politicians on both sides of the political aisle seem to be more concerned with their personal power and wealth than addressing the real issues and problems facing this country.  From my perspective we need less government – not more. We need less intrusion into our personal lives – not more. We must secure our borders and we need our leaders to enforce and follow the U.S. Constitution – not just laws they want to enforce and disregard other laws that don’t suit their political agenda like immigration and gun rights. You can’t just prance into a European, Central American or Middle Eastern country without proper visas, credentials and passports and even then you can only stay for a certain amount of time and must pay your own way. Why should it be different here? I don’t get it!

Yes…I am a conservative. What does that mean?  When liberals and the traditional media hear this term they immediately consider us to be gun wielding, racist uneducated rednecks. This could not be further from the truth for the most part. Of course there are always exceptions on both sides of the political spectrum.  It just goes to show that the liberal media can create its own narrative and spew it often enough so people will believe it.

Being in the arts and education I have many liberal friends.  I have tried to engage some of them in political discourse over the years about the direction of our country and various political issues, however these conversations normally get testy, passionate and sometimes even ugly, so I’ve tried to avoid political dialogue to maintain friendships and good working relationships.

For the life of me I cannot figure out why it is so damning to be for lower taxes, gun rights based on the 2nd Amendment, political accountability, secure borders, religious freedom, smaller less intrusive government and fiscal responsibility.

Again…I am not a political writer. I’m just a semi-retired teacher and middle class American citizen who looks around and is very fearful of what has happened to this country over the past 10 years. I don’t have all the answers, however it seems to me that our government is doing everything in its power to weaken our country and put obstacles in the form of over regulation in front of small business and American industries. Middle class working Americans are now the enemy. You disagree with open borders or Obamacare and your labeled a racist. I disagree with the policies and legislation this  government is implementing and could care less what color he/she is who votes or puts forth legislation and policies that are detrimental to our countries prosperity and best interests like Obamacare.

Yes I’m frustrated! Yes I’m feeling helpless because is seems to me our great nation is spinning in a downward spiral and I don’t see enough “push back” from so called GOP leaders to put a stop to this madness. Our southern border is collapsing and the President is more concerned with having a beer and shooting pool in Colorado.

All I can say is we all better “wake up” and start seriously holding our political leaders accountable for the demise of our country. I am well aware my liberal friends and colleagues don’t agree with most of my thoughts and concerns, but thank God we still live in a country where I can voice my opinion.  Its just a matter of time before we lose the right of free speech.  Its just around the corner.

Lastly I believe if this were a Republican President of any race or gender he/she would already be impeached and probably thrown in jail.

After I post this I’ll be anticipating that IRS notice.

 “America will never be destroyed from the outside. If we falter and lose our freedoms, it will be because we destroyed ourselves.”

Abraham Lincoln
17 comments on “Feeling Helpless and Frustrated

  1. Joseph Whichard
    July 13, 2014

    Amen! Well spoken Patrick. I am worried everyday. My wife thinks I am a kook, but people need to open their eyes. It’s quite startling.

  2. Patrick Keough
    July 13, 2014

    Thanks Joe! Many people don’t see it because our freedoms have been slowly and incrementally eroding over the the past 25 + years. I fear for our children and grandchildren. What will America look like in 20 – 30 years if we keep going down this road of class warfare, open borders, higher and higher taxes on the middle class workers………..etc.

  3. Shawn Coyle
    July 13, 2014

    As always well written…thank you for taking exactly how I feel and putting it into words.

  4. Phil Rourk
    July 13, 2014

    Congratulations Patrick! I think you have done a great job articulating the disappointment, anger and frustration that so many of us feel at the way our once great country is being destroyed right in front of our eyes. As you say, we may disagree in parts of our analysis of the causes, but what is happening is plain for all to see. And the truly terrifying thing is that the worst may still be yet to come and that we may find that it is already too late to turn this thing around.

    Let me add my two cents as to the main causes: materialism and immorality. We have been bribed with visions of luxury and hedonism into forgetting that we are each of us ultimately responsible for the world we live in, and have an obligation to do right, to and for one another, and for the world we all live in. The world is not Las Vegas. What happens here does stay here, and also stays with us and with our children, forevermore. It is up to us to protect and shape the world we live in, and that begins by calling out and punishing the criminals that think they have a right to destroy our world for their own miserable and selfish pleasures.

    Too many words. But you understand. Thanks for making the effort.

  5. Patrick Keough
    July 13, 2014

    Thanks for your thoughtful comments Phil! Yes…most certainly materialism and immorality are certainly factors in this demise. No doubt! Yes I am also worried that it may be too late to turn things around however I will hope and pray that is not the case my friend.

  6. jamieclean
    July 13, 2014

    Hello Patrick – I have read your words and feel inspired to write because you share many of my concerns. I wish they wouldn’t label people like us – I don’t like the label “Conservative” because as you intimated we have become a liberal media’s pariah – Speaking for myself, I don’t really identify with either party because both seem to be more interested in power retention than serving the American Public. I use facebook on a regular basis and have become disheartened by the simplistic posts from regulars identifying themselves with a given party. It almost seems like a contest – rather than an expression of beliefs. Who can insult and misrepresent the “best” I too grew up on Long Island and still call it home – but I have a governor who would like me “to get the hell out” because I don’t agree with his very liberal agenda. Sad times for me – Jamie G. Fairley

    .

    • Patrick Keough
      July 14, 2014

      I agree Jamie! I don’t identify with either party as well. I just want to be considered an American citizen. One who still believes in liberty, the Constitution of the USA, personal responsibility and the American dream.

  7. Scott Vakos
    July 14, 2014

    As a young 30 something I feel helpless. This is my country and my future that is being destroyed along with it. The apathy that seems to run rampant in society is unsettling. No one else my age seems to care that our liberties are quietly being diminished. We are losing FREEDOMS everyday and everyone is oblivious cause they just chip away little by little. What can we do? When I try and talk about it to people they just think I’m nuts.
    If you want to cook a frog you don’t throw him into a pot of boiling water. It will be too hot and he’ll jump out avoid certain death. You put him in a pot of room temperature water and turn on the stove.

    • Patrick Keough
      July 14, 2014

      Thanks for commenting on my post Scott! Apathy is killing this country and I find it troubling and unfortunate that so many young people are not concerned about the state of our nation, nor do they seem to have a good grasp on American history and their constitutional rights as Americans. This current administration is hurting young people like yourself economically especially. The job market has diminished over the years for young adults and your health insurance costs are rising, not getting lower thanks to Obamacare. Oh…yea…you can keep your doctor. Lie of the year! Very good analogy about the frog in hot water. We are the frogs! Yes they are chipping away at our freedoms and political correctness as you probably know is out of control. Heaven forbid you disagree with a liberal about any hot button issue like gun control or immigration. Its difficult to engage them in a conversation because they (for the most part) don’t want to hear an opposing opinion. Educate your friends man! Got to start somewhere.

  8. Teresa Gillikin
    July 14, 2014

    I do not agree with all conservative or liberal views, and for some reason people have a problem with that. I’m told I have to pick a side. But, if both sides are doing harm to this country, then I am really just picking the lesser of two evils. And, that does not sit well with me. It seems like we are being labeled as conspiracy theorists for feeling like our whole BIG government system is not working, and they are in fact removing all our freedoms one by one. It is very frustrating.

    • Patrick Keough
      July 14, 2014

      You know Teresa…its not even about picking sides. We are all Americans and it seems more and more people who live here hate America or at least despise what they think it stands for. Big government is intrusive to say the least and I want government out of my life and taking my hard earned money to spend on fraudulent initiatives like this border crisis and wasteful programs that are not effective. Thanks for your comment!

  9. Airlie Pelletier
    July 14, 2014

    Preach it, Patrick! ..and you didn’t even go into the fact that they’re poisoning our food supply and attempting to hide it from us.. Other countries have to label if there are genetically modified organisms in the food they eat. I’ll continue to pay American taxes and support my country, but I’m glad I’m raising my child overseas for the time being.

  10. Patrick Keough
    July 14, 2014

    Isn’t that to truth Airlie! Just another loathsome thing this government is dumping on us. You know its all about the $$$! The hell with the people.

  11. Ozaawaakook
    July 18, 2014

    Patrick, Old friend from the green machine days. I so love your passion and inner strength to speak your mind. Thank you for putting that out there. I feel America would be on a better path if we would share more of our common values. This good old boy from up north understands where you are coming from, but reserves the right to view things my way. We do come from the same ” Mayberry” era so lets start there. NiiGii Red Dog.

  12. Patrick Keough
    July 19, 2014

    Thanks for commenting on my recent post old friend from way back in the day. I am glad you understand or at least empathize with my concerns. We all have to synthesize the political landscape through our own personal ethics and beliefs. I hope all is well with you up in the north country. Miss you man!

    • Ozaawaakook
      July 21, 2014

      My wife and I are well in the north country. I agree with your analogy. Keep the passion for what you believe in. As will I. Be strong old friend. NiiGii

  13. Jim Pickens
    July 20, 2014

    Patrick, as you we’ll know I share your feelings. That was a great piece, thanks for sending the link.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 13, 2014 by in Keough Journal, My Politics and tagged , , , .
