KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Personal Transformation….Breaking out of my Comfort Zone

Its a new year and I’m turning another year older. 62…Yikes! I’m excited however about the challenges ahead, especially since I’ve been doing Crossfit regularly for over a year now and am in the process of overcoming some physical and mental challenges. When I showed up at Crossfit Morehead City 15 months ago I was 30 pounds heavier and not in the best of shape. Sure I could jog a few miles and play some competitive racquetball, but I was just maintaining the status quo with my health and fitness level.  I was not being challenged nor was I seriously challenging myself.

I’ve always been an active person, however being active and getting seriously fit are two very different things. This is one of the big lessons I’ve learned doing Crossfit over the past year. I’ve also realized I can push my body way beyond its “comfort zone” and am learning to embrace the short term pain and discomfort for the long tern benefits of health and fitness.

Screenshot 2014-08-24 14.42.14

Crossfit has enhanced my confidence, stamina, strength and discipline, in addition to teaching me that I can overcome just about any physical challenge if I don’t give up and just stick with the fitness program. Sure it can be grueling and sometimes even painful, but the end result is so worth it.

Age is just a number. Sure that’s an old cliche, but a true one.  I’m doing things at our Crossfit box now that I could have not even imagined doing 15 months ago.  Pull-ups, dead lifts, truck tire flips, double-under jump rope, rope climbs and all kinds of extreme conditioning exercises. It’s just a matter of “showing up” day in and day out and putting in the time and effort with all aspects of the daily workout regimen.

These WOD’s (Workout of the Day) are by no means easy and believe me I’m sore when I wake up in the morning, but its a good kind of soreness that tells me I am making progress towards my fitness goals.  Sometimes our workouts can seem daunting and even overwhelming, however if you just “chip away” at it you eventually work your way through the entire WOD.

Flipping Truck Tires! Who would have thought?

Flipping Truck Tires! Who would have thought?

I will admit I used to be afraid and intimidated by the posted workouts. Some days I tried talking myself out of going to the box.  I’d look at the clock around 5:00pm and end up putting on my workout gear and famous headband then get in the car and drive to the class. I have been extremely fortunate to have a supportive, patient and helpful coach to assist me in navigating the techniques required for many of the conditioning exercises and strength training.  I’ve also found in my frequent travels that the Crossfit community no matter what BOX you visit is like a supportive family.  In addition to my regular Crossfit box here in Morehead City, I now have a Crossfit family in my hometown on Long Island called Crossfit Smithtown and always feel welcome when I go home to visit family.

Crossfit Smithtown

Crossfit Smithtown Friends

The main point I want to get across in this blog post is if you’re serious about making a change in your life. Serious about getting in shape. Serious about overcoming personal obstacles and serious about transforming your mind and body then its just a matter of finding the right Crossfit Box and/or gym and “showing up” every day – put one foot in front of the other and do the program.  Sure its going to be hard. Nothing worthwhile is easy, however anyone at and age and fitness level can “do it” with right attitude, coaching, discipline and motivation.

I couldn't do a Pull-Up one year ago.

I couldn’t do a Pull-Up one year ago.

You can’t make serious physical transformations going the easy route. As I mentioned at the outset of this post…I’ve worked out all my life, but was just maintaining – not truly challenging myself well beyond my comfort zone.  This past year is the first time since military Boot Camp and OCS training that I’ve pushed myself (and been pushed) way beyond what I thought I was capable of doing physically and mentally. The payoff is HUGE if you have the grit and determination to push through every physical challenge that confronts you.

Crossfit doesn’t transform you overnight.. you have to put in the time and give 100% effort. You will hurt in the morning and there will be days you will want to give up. The challenge for all of us trying to make a change is to be disciplined and not be quitters. So many people make New Years resolutions only to forget about them by February. Is it time to draw the line in the sand and tell yourself it will be different this year?

Love My MC Crossfit family

Love My MC Crossfit family

So I’m very excited about this coming year. I’ve set some higher goals for myself such as breaking  2 hours on an upcoming 1/2 marathon, in addition to running in my 2nd Volcano Challenge Race in El Salvador in 3 weeks and the Spartan Sprint Race in April.  An event I could not have dreamed of doing one year ago. I also want to do a hand stand pushup. An exercise I still have not been able to conquer BUT I will eventually.

If at 62 year old I can do it….so can you! Bust out of your “comfort zone” – but with that said…be smart about it and look to your coach to scale exercises that you are not physically ready to do.  If you are an older athlete like myself, I highly suggest getting a physical before starting any strenuous workout regimen.

Final Note…..

According to Cosssfit.com “CrossFit is many things. Primarily, it’s a fitness regimen developed by Coach Greg Glassman over several decades.  CrossFit itself is defined as that which optimizes fitness (constantly varied functional movements performed at relatively high intensity). CrossFit is also the community that spontaneously arises when people do these workouts together.  In fact, the communal aspect of CrossFit is a key component of why it’s so effective. 

 CrossFit is not easy and it’s not simple. To be fit and physically competent to handle all of the challenges in life is no small endeavor. As you work to become a fitter and healthier person, you will need to learn about:

  • Movement – How to move safely and effectively.
  • Fitness – What it means to be fit. Its definition, the supporting theories, and how to go about attaining it in real life.
  • Nutrition – Eat meat & vegetables, nuts & seeds, some fruit, little starch, and no sugar. Keep intake to levels that will support exercise, but not body fat.


Education is a big part of CrossFit. When you start, you are not expected to have the knowledge you need.

 CrossFit is an education about movement, fitness, nutrition and community.  All of these things require responsibility, common sense, and work to educate oneself using all the tools available in the community.”

Its a New Year! How are you going to begin your personal transformation?

2 comments on “Personal Transformation….Breaking out of my Comfort Zone

  1. Ozaawaakook
    January 18, 2015

    Good to see you are keep on keeping on Red Dog. If I remember correctly you where always a goal setter and kept at it until you reached it. My wife and I just returned from two weeks in Australia and New Zealand, needless to say being in some kind of physical shape is a plus. Good fun had by all. Even when hanging out in Sydney with 1.6 million people for new years eve fireworks. Catch you later. Ozaawaakook

  2. Pingback: Ready for More Adventures… | KeO BLoG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 7, 2015 by in Keough Journal and tagged , , , , , .
