KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Blogged Out

It seems I’ve lost my passion and interest to write on my blog lately.  I’m not sure what it is, other than not feeling any deep desire to share my feelings and thoughts with anyone. Sure I can blame it on the constant demands of my online teaching duties, however that isn’t the real reason I’ve not been posting.  I think it has more to do with the state of our nation and my despair and anguish over the direction America and the world in general is going.

The constant bombardment of violent and disheartening news through social media and the internet has gotten me depressed and at a loss as to how to share my feelings about politics, current events and even art and photography with anyone.  What’s the point in adding to the negative information overload?

Up until recently, I’d always be pondering in the back of my mind what my next blog post would be.  Whether that be about photography, teaching, art, technology or my travels.  Lately  I don’t have much to share other than my fear for this country and disgust and horror I have for Islamic terrorist groups like ISIS killing Christians, beheading innocent people, in addition to the constant strife in the middle east and racial/political discord here in the states. The daily news can get you seriously depressed and even numb and desensitized to the constant flow of atrocities being committed around the world.

Oh…another beheading today.  Hmmmmm…..Christians burned in cages somewhere in the middle east. Children in Yemen reenact beheadings and cage burnings. Another politician breaking the law, hohum. I mean this is real stuff happening to real people and yet we have so little control as to being able to do anything about it.

I can go on and on, yet people for the most part have become numb, apathetic and desensitized to the constant barrage of bad, violent and the utterly insane atrocities happening around the world today.  You get up and check into Facebook or any online news source and in a matter of seconds you are subjected to a host of debased, inhuman news stories that can quickly demoralize you. I know it has me and I find it difficult to pull myself out of the doldrums and renew my faith in this great country and people in general.

As a teacher of art history, which essentially is world history illustrated with art – I am well aware that these kinds of atrocities have been going on since prehistoric times.  Its just that you can’t get away from it thanks to social media and the internet. It haunts you and is always jumping out at you.  I’m sick of hearing about politicians and their promises, their lies, their scandals and their total bullshit for the most part. I’m also emotionally drained from being confronted with the horrendous murderous acts being committed on innocent people around the world with no way to stop it or even process it.

Awhile back Billy Joel sang “We Didn’t Start the Fire” and that rings true, however it seems to me the fire is burning out of control all around this world of ours. How do we even begin to douse the flames???

8 comments on “Blogged Out

  1. Joseph Whichard
    March 7, 2015

    We can try to douse the flames by not watching the news, it’s gotten to the point where it’s all pretty much propaganda and a way to stir shit. We as artists can only show the passionate sides of human beings. There will always be a constant struggle for power and world filled with greed, but as leaders and teachers, we need to show the world it’s ok to have a soft side. Life is precious and much too short to be jaded by all the rhetoric. Live on, and live strong. Love you Pat.

    • Patrick Keough
      March 8, 2015

      Thanks for your positive and encouraging comments Joe! You are so right! Life is so short and we have to try NOT to be jaded by all the negative and disheartening stuff going on in the world today. Love you too man! Proud of your accomplishments!

  2. jamieclean
    March 7, 2015

    Patrick, you have a way with words that captures how many of us currently feel. My recent experiences with the politics of social media have left me disheartened and dispirited. The politics of our once great nation has become one long continuous contest. It’s either my way or your way with no talk of compromise from either side. For many their pride is at stake rather than this beautiful country of ours. A political representative or candidate can behave outrageously and unethically, but if he or she is from your “side” it is either explained away with fictitious and creative “facts” or ignored altogether until the next news cycle erases it from our collective conscience. On to the next story…
    Our desire for political correctness could possibly become our undoing. We no longer call our enemies by their name like we did with Hitler’s Nazis, now they are veiled in euphemisms of tolerance and delusion. We label acts of horror as workplace violence, random acts and worse.
    As for the brutal violence against Christians and Jews, and the subjugation of women, carried out in the name of religion, well I find myself close to tears when I hear about our inhumanity. Not even in the darkest recesses of my soul could I imagine the depravity being committed in the Mideast and in the name of God.
    So yes – I get your feelings – I feel them too. God bless.

    • Patrick Keough
      March 8, 2015

      It really is difficult to process some of the horrible things going on in the world today and like I said in the post we know bad things have always gone on in the world but now its so much more in your face it can be emotionally draining and suck the life out of you. Like Joe said above we still have to make an effort not to be jaded by it all and try to enjoy the life we have on this earth. Thanks for your comments!

  3. Patricia
    March 8, 2015

    You can take your Facebook feed and every time you see a news, political or negative post click the side arrow and say I don’t want to see this. Get rid of the negativity. It will take a while and you’ll be shocked how much you have to get rid of but it is healthier to do so and youll feel better. Also, don’t continue to like those types of postings for that will just perpetuate the cycle. If you want to see/check the news choose when and only check it once a day.

    • Patrick Keough
      March 8, 2015

      Good tip Patricia! I will start doing this and try to be more selective as to not get bombarded by all the HORROR in the world. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

  4. Ozaawaakook
    March 12, 2015

    Do enjoy your insight Red Dog, your spot on with the observations of life around us at this time in history. Micah 6 verse 8 gives one some strength to continue trying to make a difference in the child in front of me. Thats the teacher I try to be every day. Be strong Patrick and take care old friend.

  5. F U L L S P E C T R A
    December 27, 2016

    Great article Pat. Surely we must continue to share the good in the hope that one day we’ll all, as people, finally cotton on to the fact that the bad just isn’t worth the effort to consider anymore. I realise how lame that must sound but as civilians without power, save to vote for those who renage mostly on election manifestos and in effect dupe us all for their own ends, what else is there to do. Maybe start a worldwide protest replete with banners and slogans, in our tens of millions? Civil uprisings, marshal law.. I don’t know where it would end. The constant need for bad news needs somehow to be overturned. Make the press and the media aware we don’t want the doom and gloom. Stop buying newspapers, unplug the TV and invest in music, books, or heaven forbid.. get out more and actually do something more than consume. I agree with Patricia. De-perpetuation is required. I despise what’s happening in the world lately. For decades now.. its been building up and spreading like a disease. What can we do? Can ignorance be bliss, really, when innocents are targeted daily across the globe? Rock vs Hard Place. But I know exactly where you’re coming from. Still, there is so much awesomeness in the world. We just need to tap into it – and continue to be a part of it. That’s got to count for something? R

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 7, 2015 by in Keough Journal, My Politics and tagged , , .
