KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Ready for More Adventures…

Cliffs of Moher, Ireland

Cliffs of Moher, Ireland

WoW!!!….Its hard believe I’ve been retired from full time teaching for 3 years now. What a whirlwind adventure the past 3 years have been.  I’ve traveled through 15 countries both in Europe and Central America, hiked Mayan ruins and climbed Volcanoes, got addicted to Crossfit, lost 35 pounds in the process, finished my first Spartan Race, sold my house and am now looking forward to flying to El Salvador in 2 weeks for my son Adam’s wedding. I never thought retirement would be so much fun, challenging and rewarding.  Life is what you make it!

Adam and Tery Engagement Photo

Adam and Tery Engagement Photo

I’m still teaching classes online and happy to be able to share my knowledge and mecomputerpassion for art /photography on my terms and on my schedule.  That’s the beauty of distance learning. Now that the dust has settled and I’m in my new apartment, I feel like its time to regroup and begin thinking about the next few years after Adam gets married.

My kids (Adam and Andei) are grown and out on their own and living their dreams. I’m blessed with good health and want to continue sucking the marrow out of all life has to offer.

I must admit I loved Eastern Europe and want to go back and explore and photograph more Eastern European cities and countries.  Prague, Vienna, Krakow Poland, Bratislava and of course Ireland were among my favorite places that I visited in the past few years.  It was such a blessing and joy to to travel through Ireland with my son this past month.  I also really enjoyed Guatemala and of course El Salvador. Another great thing about the past 3 years has been renewing old friendships in addition to making new friends around the world.

Train to Prague

Train to Prague

So the question is…where do I go from here?  I’m seriously considering doing some volunteer missionary work in the next year and also want to do the Santiago Pilgrimage in France and Spain next summer. I’ve postponed this dream for 2 years and I think its time to just “do it” before I’m not physically able to hike 500 km.

I also must get to the big Island of Hawaii to visit my daughter Andei in the near future.  So many things to plan for and do before I am too to do them.

The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.
-St. Augustine

Here are some favorite travel photos taken over the past 3 years. Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One comment on “Ready for More Adventures…

  1. Beth Belcher
    July 28, 2015

    Awesome! Get up a trip somewhere and I will sign on!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 28, 2015 by in Keough Journal, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , .
