KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Photo / Art Workshop at Casa Taller Encuentros in Panchimalco

I had an amazing and personally rewarding time yesterday giving my Captain Color Photo / Art Workshop at the Casa Taller Encuentros  Art School in Panchimalco, El Salvador. Miguel Angel Ramirez (picture below) the studio owner is doing fantastic work with the young people of Panchimalco and making a real positive difference in his community.

memiguel

melecture

classroom

I arrived in El Salvador this past Thursday to visit my son Adam and his new wife Tery.  There is nothing more I rather do than share my passion and knowledge for art and photography with young aspiring art / photo students. The workshop went absolutely great thanks to the very organized and professional staff of Casa Taller Encuentros, in addition to the help of my El Salvadoran friends and photo colleagues Stefan Rivera, Orlando Flores and Miguel Angel Servellon Guerrero.

biggroup

I spend over a week beforehand preparing and then practicing my photo / art Powerpoint presentation in Spanish.  I must admit, I was a little nervous before my talk due to my very limited Spanish speaking abilities.  I muddled through better than I thought thanks to my son Adam and his wife Tery helping me practice the talk and correcting my Spanish pronunciation.

melecture1

What really impressed me was how Miguel’s students applied the photographic techniques I taught them in the lecture when we went out into the town to take photographs. The young students were filled with excitement and enthusiasm to make photographs and apply what they had learned.

mygroup1

After out photo excursion in and around the lovely town of Panchimalco,  Miguel and his staff had a wonderful lunch prepared for us at his studio and then we went back into the classroom for the final phase of the workshop.

miguel

I critiqued an image from every student who participated and helped choose the best images for an upcoming photographic exhibition. What an honor it was to give a creative workshop to young students of art and photography. Hopefully I planted a seed in them to continue with their studies in art and photography.

critique

I was also very lucky to have some very professional Salvadoran photographers come out and assist me with the workshop. There is no doubt that art is a universal language that brings people from all nationalities together.

stefanteach

orlando

 

menino

groupfotopanchimalco

The following a more photographs I took of the students and teachers during our workshop.

mygroup

teryankids

2kidsshooting

studentshoots

girlwithcamera

migueljr

boywithcamera

kidongrassninos

salude

 

 

 

 

3 comments on “Photo / Art Workshop at Casa Taller Encuentros in Panchimalco

  1. theitinerary1
    March 13, 2016

    Nice shots 🙂

  2. Charles Strange
    March 13, 2016

    Very cool…..looks like it was a great time.

  3. Pingback: Photographers are Story Tellers | KeO BLoG

Leave a Reply

