KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

This Crossfitter Can’t Even Pull on his Socks

13494884_10207113600373708_4568577064901637885_n

It’s been 15 days since my hip replacement surgery and I’m recuperating rapidly according to my home health physical therapist Jogie, although I’m not enjoying being confined to my 3rd floor apartment. I miss my Crossfit gym and swimming in the pool at the local sports center. With that said…I decided to have hip replacement surgery because of bad arthritis in my hips that limited my mobility a great deal.  I was not in pain, however it was just a matter of time according to my doctor before I’d have to undergo surgery, so I went ahead and had my left hip replaced. Eventually I will need to go through this again and have the right hip replaced as well. Something I’m not looking forward to.

The surgery itself was not bad considering they put you asleep with anesthesia. One minute you’re talking to a nurse in pre-0p and the next you are waking up in a hospital bed groggy and disoriented  from the spinal block.  The nurse had me up and out of the bed just a few hours after surgery roaming the halls with a walker. I spent 3 nights in the hospital being monitored for infection and participating in group physical rehabilitation. I have to say the nurses, doctors and medical staff at Carteret General Hospital were totally awesome and very empathetic, professional and helpful.

The first 2 days after surgery were the worst when it came to pain and discomfort, however as the days went by the pain dissipated and I began to notice slightly better mobility in my left hip.  This entire healing process has been a learning experience and a real wake up call.

13509001_995741620474681_6304102187857348861_n

Even though I’m 63 I consider myself in very good health and physical condition thanks to Crossfit, long distance running and daily swimming.  That in itself has contributed to my recuperation and is helping me rehab quickly.  When you are 100% healthy its very easy to take basic body functions and simple daily activities for granted.  It’s a reality check when you can’t put your compression socks on, take a shower without assistance,  cook a meal, drive a car and even have difficulty getting up from a chair.

I never gave it much thought before, but there are many older adults who struggle with these basic activities every day.  I suppose there will come a time when I’ll have to face the reality of aging as well.  I hope to put it off for as long as possible by continuing to workout regularly and stay in the best physical condition I possibly can. Yes it is a cliche, but age is just a number, a state of mind.

13524430_10206615214278872_3378534254952469958_n

From the moment I decided to go through with the surgery my friends and family have been incredibly supportive. I would not have been able to navigate all the post operation challenges without my friends – most of them my fellow Crossfit athletes.  They set up meal deliveries for me, came by my apartment to check on me, texted me, called me and picked up groceries for me and even one friend brought me a recliner.  I feel incredibly blessed to have so many great and supportive friends who have been looking out for me during my rehabilitation.

13557741_10157127966875444_5824704260227906590_n

I’m on the comeback trail now and hopefully I’ll be able to get back to the gym and my regular routine by the end of the month.  This recent surgery has taught me a few important lessons.  One of them being never to take my health for granted.  It’s also revealed something about the Crossfit community. Crossfit is not only a group of people who show up to a class and train hard and fast for an hour each day. Its so much more than that. Crossfit really is a family!

crossfit

Its a community that truly cares about one another both in and out of the BOX.  Whether that be doing a fundraiser for a member with cancer, running a 5k as a group to support a member who has never run a race before and in my case coming together to help me with rides, meals and groceries during my rehabilitation.  I just wish I discovered Crossfit at a younger age. Sure I’m going to have to scale many of the workouts and limit running and high impact exercises, but the beauty of Crossfit is everything can be scaled to your personal fitness level and limitations.

0034308-0025392-31306

I don’t know if there will be anymore Spartan races in my future, however I do know I’m going to rehab completely and get back to doing the things I love – one of them being Crossfit.   I plan to replace running with a bicycle and limit high impact exercises. These new hips only last 20 years.

Now if I could only get these damn compression socks on by myself without having to call a friend over to help me. 🙂

 

 

9 comments on “This Crossfitter Can’t Even Pull on his Socks

  1. Charles Strange
    July 14, 2016

    Heal quickly!

    Your unfriended friend, Charlie Strange

  2. Patrick Keough
    July 14, 2016

    Thanks Charlie! Hmmm I must have unfriended you during my FB purge in a moment of frustration over politics. Sorry about that. Yes…you are my old friend.

  3. David Alexander
    July 14, 2016

    Patrick, they say that the best way to heal after hip replacement is to play a few games of racquetball.. Come on man!! Let’s play!

  4. Patrick Keough
    July 14, 2016

    It may be awhile before I get back on a Racquetball court David. Hopefully in a month or so I’ll be back on my game.

  5. Bessie Wells
    July 14, 2016

    Glad you are healing nicely Patrick. Won’t be long before you are up and about. Take care and take care of yourself! 🙂

  6. Jogie Liansing
    July 14, 2016

    It’s a pleasure to work with you Mr. Keough. It’s not everyday I get to meet a Spartan! Keep up the good work.

    • Patrick Keough
      July 17, 2016

      You are an excellent Physical Therapist Jogie! Thanks for all your help with my rehab. I will request you after my right hip replacement.

  7. Missy
    July 17, 2016

    Hey Pat, I hope you recover quickly. It sounds like you’re doing very well! This getting older stuff is for the birds! I’m in my 6th week of recovery from a trimalleolar fracture and hope I get the green light to drive again this week. UGH. Take care of yourself.

    • Patrick Keough
      July 17, 2016

      Thanks Missy! I am assuming this is my old friend Missy from Long Island days. Yes indeed! Getting old sucks! Especially when your body parts start wearing out. Wishing you a quick recovery as well.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 13, 2016 by in Keough Journal and tagged , , , , .
