KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

“A Child Could Have Painted That…”

abstract-art-quotes-1

I recently started back to painting after a 2 year hiatus. My primary medium of expression is photography, however I love to paint. I consider myself more of an expressionistic painter in the tradition of the Fauves, Kandinski and Jackson Pollock.

mepainting2

During the past few days of painting, I’ve come to the realization that abstract/non-objective painting is incredibly difficult and I’ll admit I’ve hit a wall and decided to go back to square one and practice my basic fundamentals.

screen-shot-2016-12-19-at-3-29-50-pm

Being away from painting for awhile it seems I’ve lost my confidence and ability to get beyond  making one crap / mediocre painting after another, so with that said….it drives me crazy when I hear someone at a museum or gallery stand in front of a Jackson Pollock, Kandinski or well know abstract painting and say “a child could paint that” or “anyone could do that”.

d789abe8c37104db0444d6877695a4fd

Because in fact, except for very rare exceptions a child (or anybody) could not do that.

‘Anyone could paint that’ and 7 other myths about art”

movieposter“This sentiment is typically refuted with the argument, “But you didn’t.” A more common version of the myth circulating art circles, “It’s too easy,” completes itself with “to take a compelling photograph,” or “to make a good collage.” In each case, the viewer is actually complaining that it’s too hard to separate the good from the bad. There’s no easy answer to this dilemma, except to look at enough art to develop a mature eye.”

I’m not saying it’s easy to paint in a realistic manner. There are skill sets that apply to any style / approach to painting. However artists like Kandinski, DeKooning, Pollock and Kline were very discerning artists and scrutinized every stroke of the brush and/or drip of paint. There are countless creative decisions to make when it comes to interrelating / melding lines, shapes, colors, values and textures onto a given canvas.

kandinsky-comp-8

Kandinski Composition #8

Abstract artists must rely on the symbolic, expressive and psychological connotations communicated by the visual elements of design without didactic representational subject matter as their primary method for connecting with the viewers their art.

screen-shot-2016-12-19-at-4-13-42-pm

Hurricane Matthew Abstraction 10/2016

So its back to basics for me and hopefully I’ll find my painting Mojo once again – but until then I am going to continue practicing and enjoying the process of painting and not worry too much about the final product – for me right now its all about the creative journey whether that be making a photograph or putting paint on a canvas.

pkpainting

Latest Painting – Untitled 12/2016

“Abstract literally means to draw from or separate. In this sense every artist is abstract… a realistic or non-objective approach makes no difference. The result is what counts. “(Richard Diebenkorn)

One comment on ““A Child Could Have Painted That…”

  1. Richard Lopez
    December 19, 2016

    Great post, I like your Hurricane Mathew painting

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 19, 2016 by in ArT and tagged , , .
