KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Seeing with Fresh Eyes

Textures in Sand and Shells

Textures in Sand and Shells

It seems true that traveling to a new town, city and/or country we tend to observe the world around us more intensely with “fresh eyes” for detail, nuance and environments that have the potential to become great subjects for photographs.

Makeshift Fence, El Zonte El Salvador

Makeshift Fence, El Zonte El Salvador

There is unique and visually interesting subject matter to photograph wherever you go. The real challenge for photographers is developing a heightened awareness for his/her surroundings no matter where our travels take us.

Sunset on the Rocks, El Zonte El Salvador

Sunset on the Rocks, El Zonte El Salvador

Ask yourself….What is the light doing to that old weathered fence or house? Be more aware of textures, lines, shapes and unique designs in nature and man-made structures.

New environments afford us opportunities to look at the world with “fresh eyes” Everything around us is new and offers unique and challenging photographic opportunities. It’s just a matter of having our cameras ready and being alert and observant.

Snacks and Fruit, El Zonte El Salvador

Snacks and Fruit, El Zonte El Salvador

We don’t always have to travel to exotic places to find great subjects for our pictures. Great light for example enhances any potential photograph. Early morning or late afternoon light can activate a mediocre or mundane subject and enhance its visual impact.

Hostal Hands

Hostal Hands

So next time you travel to a new town, city or country take a walk with your camera and OBSERVE your new environment with “fresh eyes”. You’ll be amazed at what you will see and capture in your photographs.

Kids at the Beach in Golden Light

Kids at the Beach in Golden Light

“To me, photography is an art of observation. It’s about finding something interesting in an ordinary place… I’ve found it has little to do with the things you see and everything to do with the way you see them.”
Elliott Erwitt

5 comments on “Seeing with Fresh Eyes

  1. Evangelina07
    February 21, 2017

    I like your post. Very good tips and observations.

  2. Joseph Whichard
    February 21, 2017

    So true Patrick. I will never forget the first day that I really had all of the elements you and Cathy taught us come together and make perfect sense. That day changed my life, now I see the little things everywhere. People think I am weird at times and wonder what I am looKing at, it’s only when I show them what I see through my images do they then understand. It’s a gift to me to see the beauty in these small things on a daily basis, and for that I would like to thank you and Cathy for showing me the light.

  3. Patrick Keough
    February 21, 2017

    AWESOME Joseph! Your feedback on my post made my day. I feel so blessed to have impacted so many students like you in a positive way photographically. You all have given me more than I gave you in so many ways. Love you man!

  4. Dustin
    February 22, 2017

    Awesome pictures! I agree with your idea of “fresh eyes”. I find that everything seems to take on a new hue, even mundane things, when you’re in a new place experiencing new things.

  5. Dina
    June 9, 2017

    Wonderful images❣️

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2017 by in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , .
